Our leadership team is committed to our mission to help fight the opioid crisis.

Executive Leadership Team

Braeburn Mike Derkacz 240

Mike Derkacz

President & CEO


Louis Ricigliano

Chief Financial Officer

Braeburn Paul Johnson 240

Paul Johnson

Chief Commercial Officer

Braeburn Susan Franks 240

Susan Franks

SVP, Regulatory Affairs

Brian Hirsch 1 V5

Brian Hirsch

General Counsel

Braeburn Ted Buckley 240

Ted Buckley

VP, Government Affairs & Advocacy


Scot DeAthos

VP of Operations

Board of Directors

Seth Harrison, MD

Chairman of the Board & Inside Director

Dr. Seth Harrison is the managing partner of Apple Tree Partners and serves as Executive Chairman of Braeburn Pharmaceuticals. He has invested in life sciences since 1991. Seth has served as founding investor, acting CEO or chairman of numerous portfolio companies. Previously, Seth was a general partner at Oak Investment Partners and earlier was a venture partner at Sevin Rosen Funds. From 2002 – 2010 he served on the board of the International Partnership for Microbicides, a Rockefeller Foundation/Gates Foundation sponsored public-private partnership engaged in the development of anti-HIV microbicides.

Mike Derkacz

President, CEO & Inside Director

Mike Derkacz leads Braeburn with passion and clarity, bringing 25 years of pharmaceutical industry experience to his role. Mike is an accomplished and highly successful leader, with deep expertise in building market-leading brands, conducting award-winning product launches, creating highly effective teams and developing sound commercial strategies to sustain market leadership. Prior to Braeburn, he was Senior Vice President and Head of Global CNS for Teva’s Global Specialty Medicines business. During his tenure at Teva, he led the launch of Copaxone 40mg, considered one of the most successful product introductions in the multiple sclerosis category and named pharma industry “Brand of the Year”. He joined Teva through the acquisition of Cephalon, where he served as Vice President, CNS Business unit. He spent the first 15 years of his career at GlaxoSmithKline — where he assumed positions of increasing leadership and commercial responsibility for major CNS and Cardiovascular brands.

Jerry Karabelas, Ph.D.

Independent Director

Dr. Jerry Karabelas has held a number of senior executive positions in major pharmaceutical companies, including Head of Healthcare and CEO of Worldwide Pharmaceuticals for Novartis AG, where he had full responsibility for Novartis Pharma and Ciba Vision, as well as strategic and operational leadership of R&D. He was also Executive Vice President of SmithKline Beecham with responsibility for U.S. and European operations, regulatory, and strategic marketing. Most recently, Jerry has chaired the boards of several biopharmaceutical companies, including Human Genome Sciences, Inc., Vanda Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and SkyePharma PLC. He currently chairs the boards of Inotek and Polyphor, AG and is a partner at Care Capital.

Dennis H. Langer, M.D., J.D.

Independent Director

Dr. Dennis H. Langer has served as a Director of several biotechnology, specialty pharmaceutical, and diagnostic companies, and has been CEO and/or co-founder of several healthcare companies. Previously, Dennis served as a Managing Partner of Phoenix IP Ventures, a private equity/venture capital firm specializing in life sciences. Prior to that, he was President, North America, of Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories. Dennis has also held several leadership positions at GlaxoSmithKline and its predecessor, SmithKline Beecham, including Senior Vice President of Research and Development. He was President and CEO of Neose Technologies, Inc., and also held R&D and marketing positions at Eli Lilly, Abbott and Searle. He began his career as a Chief Resident at Yale University School of Medicine, and held clinical fellowships at Harvard Medical School and the National Institutes of Health. He serves as a Director of Myriad Genetics, Inc., Dicerna Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Delcath Systems, Inc., and several private companies. He is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry, Georgetown University School of Medicine.

Patrick J. Kennedy

Independent Director

Patrick J. Kennedy is a former member of the U.S. House of Representatives and the nation’s leading political voice on mental illness, addiction, and other brain diseases. During his 16-year career representing Rhode Island in Congress, he fought a national battle to end medical and societal discrimination against these illnesses, highlighted by his lead sponsorship of the Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008. Patrick has since founded The Kennedy Forum, which leads a national dialogue on transforming mental health and addiction care delivery by uniting mental health advocates, business leaders, and government agencies, and co-founded One Mind, a global leader in open science collaboration in brain research. He is also the co-author of “A Common Struggle: A Personal Journey Through the Past and Future of Mental Illness and Addiction,” which details his personal struggles as well as his bold plan for the future of mental health care in America.

Brian Markison


Brian Markison is a seasoned executive with more than 30 years of operational, marketing, commercial development and sales experience. He currently serves as the Non-Executive Chairman of Lantheus Medical Imaging as well as a Healthcare Industry Executive for Avista. Additionally, he is the Chief Executive Officer and a Director of Osmotica Holdings, SCSp, after serving as Executive Chairman of one of its predecessor companies, Vertical/Trigen Holdings, LLC. Prior to Lantheus and Osmotica, Brian held the position of President and Chief Executive Officer and member of the Board of Directors of Fougera Pharmaceuticals Inc. Previously, he was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of King Pharmaceuticals, which he joined as Chief Operating Officer in March 2004, and was promoted to President and Chief Executive Officer later that year. Brian has held various senior leadership positions at Bristol-Meyers Squibb. He also serves on the Board of Directors of National Spine and Pain Centers, LLC and the College of New Jersey.

Paul Eisenberg, M.D., M.P.H.


Paul Eisenberg, M.D., M.P.H. has over 30 years of drug development experience across therapeutic areas. He trained in Internal Medicine, Cardiology and Pulmonary at Washington University and joined the faculty of the Department of Medicine where he led both basic and clinical research teams. He was appointed Professor of Medicine and also was the Director of the Cardiac Intensive Care Unit at Barnes-Jewish Hospital. Dr. Eisenberg joined Lilly in 1998 in Cardiovascular Discovery and, subsequently, was VP of General Medicine, and then Drug Safety. In 2005 he joined Amgen where he was SVP of Global Regulatory and Safety; and in 2014 became SVP of Global Medical and Chief Medical Officer. In March 2019 he joined Apple Tree Partners as Venture Partner.

Define the future at Braeburn...together.

Join Our Team